“It’s been a long time, we shouldn’t have left you…”

This article was supposed to be written two weeks ago, so I certainly apologize for the dead space that I have let sit for the last month.  It has been quite a run of events over the last 30 days or so.  First, the pink slip that was issued me by my former school district was not rescinded, leaving my wife and I packing in order to move back in with our folks.  Shortly after that sad realization, I received a phone call from a high school friend who was also a co-worker of mine at a school I taught at in LA; he asked if I would like to come back, and after some deliberation with my wife and family, we decided to take it and move back up to the LA area.  Also during that time, I was fortunate enough to be invited in to the home of SD hip-hop legend, Blame One, to conduct an interview – which was more like an evening of reminiscing with a long-time friend.  I was writing a review of Grieves‘ latest album, Together/Apart and of Science Green’s The GREen Mixes (both of which are phenomenal).  I was also given an opportunity to rock the mic with Dapper Dan, Mr. P Chill and others at Problumz’ and BeatShop’s BYOB open mic, as well as at a benefit alongside my partner in rhyme, Antonio “PAZ1” Appling, at a benefit show for Generate Hope called Girl, Interrupted.  I was spending a lot of time in the studio, working on an LP called Behind My Eyelids with all of the beats provided by Josiah Panella aka BobbyV of the Irie Office – the album is being reformatted by myself and PAZ1 as thePiecemakers (instead of being a solo album by me as NathanAnthony) and will drop around the beginning of 2012.  ThePiecemakers are currently practicing for live performances of our mixtape, The Golden Era Mixtape and are in the studio writing and recording.

This period of rest will not be lost; SAC will come out swinging with the Blame One interview, a review/highlights article on Rock The Bells and continued reviews and coverage of albums and live performances.  We look forward to continued interaction with Urban Underground Weekly and are excited to be involve with their LA shows at the Airliner now.  I would like to take a second to thank all of those who have welcomed me and SAC into the local hip hop scene with open arms and warm hearts: DJ Artistic, Norm “DJ Norm Rocwell” Illano, KidRiz, Blame One, Dapper Dan, Mike and Jiji (Urban Underground Weekly), Vic VSP (Dope Clothing), Nikki and Mary (Nikki and the Mongoloid), Vester “Problumz” Crowel, Sojourn, Kahlee, Science Green, Dizzy0rder, the Beatshop, Mr. P. Chill, Generik and Anek (LNC), Bilateral Assembly, theBreax, Clister, DJ Redlight, SighphurOne (whose show at the Kava was a reminder of why we do this hip hop stuff), DJ Adamnt (and the West Indies), DJ Shag, and anyone and everyone who has encouraged me along this path (if I forgot to list your name, please do not be discouraged…my brain is fried right now, but I love you and am grateful for you).

My wife and I (and our first child which should be born around Christmas) are settling in nicely to our new home in the LBC and are eager to see what is in store for us here.  If you would like to contact me for any reason, please do not hesitate to send an email to nate.whitsell@gmail.com.

Peace and Love,

NathanAnthony (KB)

PS – see you in September!

Engage the content

