Adam Yauch aka MCA of the Beastie Boys Dies

Adam Yauch (MCA) of the legendary hip-hop group the Beastie Boys has passed away after a two year bought with cancer. Fittingly, Russell Simmons website was the first to report the passing. I remember in the early nineties my uncle Howie sat me down and taught me about the Beastie Boys. He explained how they were these fly, bad boys from New York who were white but could actually rock the mic. Their antics helped catapult Def Jam Records into a mega imprint. Later on in my high school’s talent show me and my boys did our rendition of “Intergalactic.” We didn’t win but we knew our head spins, flares and robots costumes were way doper than my sister and her dance team doing ‘Rhythm Nation.’ I wanted to be in that “Sabotage” video. MCA was a great emcee and a hip-hop legend and trailblazer. He spent over 25 years in the game and was still relevant. He will live (like all our lost) forever in his music.

Paz,

Antonio Cortez Appling

Engage the content

